Travel Mysteries
Author of Historical and Romantic Novels and Sagas about life in the North East of England

Janet's News

Travel Mysteries



Janet MacLeod Trotter

Janet MacLeod Trotter

email: janet@janet


NEWS AND EVENTS - Please use these links for sections on this page.

THE GIRL FROM THE TEA GARDEN, – Book 3 in the INDIA TEA SERIES is now available as an ebook, paperback and audio.

    The Girl from the Tea Garden


Back to Top

THE INDIA TEA SERIES is being launched this summer by Lake Union Publishing –

From India to Britain, an epic journey of extraordinary women in momentous times.

    The Tea Planters Daughter The Tea Planters Bride

The new look editions: THE TEA PLANTER’S DAUGHTER and THE TEA PLANTER’S BRIDE are due for release on the 21st June. A third novel in the series, GIRL FROM THE TEA GARDEN, will follow later in the year.

After their success as self-published novels, Lake Union is to bringing them out in several formats: ebooks, paperbacks and audio.

The fertile valleys of India are abundant with beauty, hope – and tea. The passionate and resourceful women of the Belhaven and Robson tea planter families have always dreamt big, even in the momentous early years of the twentieth century. From the majestic mountains of Assam to the industrial streets of northern Britain, they must learn to cope with hidden secrets, forbidden love, betrayal and adversity as they strive to make life better for themselves and their loved ones. But as they embark on epic adventures across a fast-changing world, will the upheavals of war and the dying days of the British Raj stop their dreams from becoming a reality?

GOODREADS are giving away 20 free copies of each title!


Back to Top


Beautiful covers from France for the new French editions of two of Janet’s novels

Presses de la Cite  has brought out Une Femme Insoumise – A Rebellious Woman – which is their title for A HANDFUL OF STARS.

    Une Femme Insoumise

“A Rebellious Woman,” says Janet, “is a great title and a fair comment on my ambitious, glamorous yet warm-hearted heroine, Clara. The cover also conveys the glamour of the 1930s period in which the novel is set.”

Available from:

or buy via Amazon



THE TEA PLANTER’S DAUGHTER is now available in mass market paperback in French

    Les Lumieres d'Assam

as well as in large print ….

    Les Lumieres d'Assam


Back to Top

  • Forthcoming events will be updated shortly.


Back to Top


The Girl From The Tea Garden

THE GIRL FROM THE TEA GARDEN, – Book 3 in the INDIA TEA SERIES is now available as an ebook, paperback and audio.


Jacobite Lass


THE JACOBITE LASS, the story of the legendary Flora MacDonald, is now available in Large Print, published by Magna

THE SCOTTISH HEBRIDES are steeped in the history of Jacobite Risings and the legendary Flora MacDonald – a beautiful, spirited young woman from the Outer Isles who dared to put her life at risk to help the fugitive Bonnie Prince Charlie. And she may just be a cousin of mine! Although I’m a proud MacLeod – a clan genealogist has worked out that Flora and I are distant cousins – five steps of kinship removed and several generations! I have been following in her footsteps to get a feel of where she came from and the places where she lived – now I feel like I know her! I hope you will enjoy reading this novel as much as I enjoyed writing it.”

Available to buy on-line for Amazon Kindle from and

The Jacobite Lass is now available as an audio book from

    Jacobite Lass


The Tea Planters Bride

THE TEA PLANTER'S BRIDE - A story of intrigue and passion: sequel to THE TEA PLANTER'S DAUGHTER

Inspired by diaries and letters of Janet's maternal grandparents from their time in India in the 1920s.

1922: cousins Sophie and Tilly embark on whirlwind marriages that take them to India. Passionate adventurous Sophie chooses forester Tam but what secrets is he hiding? In the beautiful remote tea gardens of Assam, Tilly, pregnant and lonely, uncovers a mystery surrounding the orphaned Sophie's parents. Is Tilly's husband, too, keeping dark secrets?

Available now as an ebook from and



NO GREATER LOVE is a special edition of The Suffragette novel, with a new ending, to mark the centenary of the death of suffragette martyr, Emily Wilding Davison.

It is available in paperback and as an ebook.



Back to Top

Further Information

Contact Janet by e-mail: